Diversity & Social Justice Initiative Award


    Established in 1994, four awards may be presented to an individual, institution, or organization that has contributed significantly to the development of multicultural understanding, diversity education, or social justice initiatives in a college or university fraternity/sorority community or inter/national organization. Criteria for this award include Affiliate, Associate, Graduate, or Professional membership in AFA or institutions/organizations with at least one eligible AFA member and significant involvement in diversity, social justice, and/or multicultural issues.

    Year Recipient

    Northeast Greek Leadership Association and The Parallel Agency, Lectorials on R.A.C.E.
    Towson University, Social Justice Workshop Series
    Zeta Tau Alpha Fraternity, Online Inclusion Courses

     2022 University of Iowa, Authentic Masculinity in Fraternity Cohort
     2021  University of Iowa – Panhellenic Multi-Year DEI Strategy
     2020 Sigma Delta Tau, Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Week 
     2019 Columbia University, Creating an Inclusive Community 
     2018 Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc., Social Action Program 
     2017 Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc.,Learn 2 Live
     2016 Kim Monteaux De Freitas, University of Vermont
     2015 Jess Pettitt, Good Enough Now, I am … Safe Zone
     2014 Lehigh University 
     2013 The Ohio State University
     2012 University of Vermont
     2011 Towson University
     2010 Kayte Sexton Fry, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
     2009 University of Vermont
     2008 Student Affairs Division at the University of Louisville 
     2007 Northwestern University, Bridging the Gap
     2004 David Ortiz, Baylor University
     2003 Shelah Crear, University of Texas
     2002 Jason Dean, University of Mississippi
     2001 Michael Deen, Western Regional Greek Conference
     2000 Monica Miranda, University of Rochester
     1998 Steve Dealph, Northwestern University
     1997 Michael Deen, Southern Methodist University
     1995 Kyle Van Hoften, University of California, Berkeley
     1994 Mary Peterson, University of Iowa


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here